Le moulin de la Roque

History

Cep Moulin de la Roque

1950

Foundation of Moulin de la Roque. Located in la Cadière d’Azur in a former wheat mill, the cellar used to be devoted to the growing of Bandol wines from Saint Cyr, Sanary and La Cadière  wineries.

1964

It was through the winegrowers’ dogged perseverance and massive investments that – since that date- Moulin de la Roque has been able to vinify its own wines.

2006

The “Maîtres Vignerons” of Beausset joined Moulin de la Roque.

2007

Moulin de la Roque turned towards sustainable practices and aimed at incorporating sustainable methods into all its activities and relationships with partners ( customers, suppliers, staff and local authorities)..

2012

A half-buried cellar –designed according to  strict eco-friendly standards- was built in an outstanding site at the foot of the village of Le Castellet. Right in the heart of the vineyard, the winery combines tradition with state-of-the-art equipment and also includes host venues and a tasting room.

2015

Opening of a new space boutique at Le Beausset.

.

The terroirs

A specific  geography

The terroir of Bandol- oriented towards the Mediterranean Sea and surrounded by a range of hills and mountains- is shaped like a  perfect natural amphitheatre. The Moulin de La Roque vineyard- boasting 1,500 parcels over a total surface area of 305 hectares- straddles  8 communes: Bandol, La Cadière d’Azur, Le Castellet, Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer, Le Beausset, Evenos, Ollioules and Sanary-sur-Mer).  Such diversity is one of this terroir’s most precious assets.

An ideal microclimate

The terroir of Bandol benefits from a micro-climate favourable to the optimal ripeness of Mourvèdre which is the main grape variety. The vineyard enjoys maximum sunshine exceeding 3,000 hours per year. The Mediterranean climate – characterized by rather wet and mild winters with pretty scarce but intense rainfalls as well as hot and dry summers- is tempered with maritime influence. The neighbouring hills shield the vineyards from the onsets of Mistral ( a strong northerly cold wind blowing through southern France).

 

Vignes et bord de mer

A mosaic of terroir

In order to enhance the personality of its Bandol wines, Moulin de La Roque has collaborated with bodies such as I.N.A.O, the Chamber of Agriculture and I.C.V. since 1997. This collaboration has made it possible to identify homogeneous entities regarding geology and pedology. As a result Mourvèdre grapes can be vinified separately according to what terroir zone they belong to. Five terroirs – each having their own characteristics depending on the vintage year- have been identified and the best Bandol wines are produced by blending these wines.

.

Men and woman

Archaeological remains indicate that as early as the 6th century B.C., men manually shaped Bandol’s landscape by crafting terraced vineyards (locally known as “restanques”). Dry stone walls were built to hold back the earth but also the water which is essential to the life of these vineyards clinging to little fertile hillsides.

It was in the 1930’s that- thanks to a handful of winegrowers determined to produce quality wines- Bandol wines won acclaim. Following hard work selecting the most suitable varietals, terroir studies carried out by geologists and a combination of ancestral and modern practices, Bandol winegrowers have reaped the fruit of their labors.

Bandol was first officially established as an appellation in 1941 and was among the first appellations to be recognized by the Institut National des Apellations d’Origine.

The 198 winegrowers or so of Moulin de La Roque- all sharing the same deep belief that quality is the key word- today continue to perpetuate this heritage.
Strenuous efforts and dogged perseverance towards improving quality are every day rewarded by satisfied and faithful customers.

Hommes et femmes

Grape varieties

Our red and rosé wines are based on a blend of Mourvèdre, Grenache, Cinsault and Carignan.

Mourvèdre-  Bandol ’s emblematic grape variety-  covers more than 50% of Moulin de La Roque’s vineyards. This most demanding varietal perfectly harmonizes with the terroir of Bandol. Mourvèdre grapes produce full-bodied wines with a long ageing potential and a wide array of aromas such as black fruit, spices, prunes, liquorice, leather, garrigue and undergrowth.

Grenache is well-adapted to arid conditions and its upright bearing is ideal against the Mistral wind. The best results come from vines planted on hillsides no matter how stony and dry they are. Grenache-based wines are hearty and exhibit notes of red and exotic fruit, spices and animal scents.

Vigne

As for Cinsault- an indigenous variety- it needs plenty of hot weather to thrive, perfectly adapts to drought conditions and strikes the right balance between the high-alcohol potential of Grenache and the tannic backbone of Mourvèdre. Low yield Cinsault grapes impart elegance, fruit and roundness to our wines.

Planted on Bandol ‘s hillsides, the old vines of Carignan produce wines that are deep red in colour, full-bodied and powerful. Blending them with Mourvèdre results in great wines which will need some ageing in the cellar to taste their best.

Our white wines are based on Clairette (a variety typical of southern areas) but also Ugni Blanc. Clairette brings roundness and very fine aromas ( white flowers, honey, white-fleshed or exotic fruit) while Ugni Blanc imparts a taut and balanced character to our wines.

Winemacking methods

Cuves

Moulin de La Roque benefits from the most modern winemaking techniques as well as state-of-the-art equipment and yet, the ancestral methods that make Bandol wines a recognized appellation today have been preserved.

The hand-picked grapes are entirely de-stemmed in order to avoid the harshness of the stalks’tannins. After a careful selection both in the vineyard and at the press-house, the grapes used for making white and rosé wines are poured into pneumatic presses and the must falls into stainless steel vats by gravity flow. The control of temperatures is a crucial process to preserve the finest aromas during alcoholic fermentation. Maintaining the juices at constant temperature as well as putting them under inert atmosphere to prevent oxidation enables to preserve the entire freshness of our rosé and white wines.

The grapes used for red wines are vinified in stainless steel tanks according to the kind of terroir they come from . Separate vinification gives our oenologist a wide range of wines that will  be blended in varying proportions according to the desired type of cuvées.

Once alcoholic fermentation is over, a long 20 to 30 day -vatting time makes sure the young wine acquires its full potential. Then the wine will be matured from 18 to 30 months in foudres ( big oak barrels) to enhance organoleptic qualities. Indeed it is during this maturing period that the rich tannins of Mourvèdre will soften and gain in finesse and elegance.

Every year, partnerships with I.C.V. and the Centre du Rosé give us the opportunity to experiment the most advanced technologies such as cold pre-fermentation maceration, maturing on fines lees in oak barrels or adapted pressing cycles respecting the integrity of grapes.

Our expertise and quality policy

Thanks to constant efforts towards improving the quality of our wines, Moulin de La Roque received ISO 9001 certification in 2004 and NFV01-007 in 2010. We also committed to a sustainable development programme in 2007. So each year Moulin de La Roque commits itself to prove its capability to make products satisfying our clients ’needs and in full compliance with regulatory requirements.

The HACCP programme started in 2007 guarantees the traceability of our products and high standards of food safety for consumers. In their parcels, our vine-growers do the seasonal vineyard operations either by hand or mechanically, always making sure these tasks are justified by careful observation: fertilization according to vine vigour, short and rigorous pruning, mechanical soil tillage, manual de-budding and epamprage ( removal of young vine branches), yield control through green harvests if necessary, spraying of vine protection products according to weather conditions and pest assessments and controls in the parcels.

Geste dans les vignes

The grapes are checked in each parcel and the date of picking is set according to optimal ripeness, grape varieties, terroir types and cuvees.

Picking is exclusively done by hand. Each batch of grapes is meticulously checked (degree of ripeness and  soundness) to capture the quintessence of each particular vintage year.

Our emblem

Tarente

The emblem of our visual identity is the tarente, a lizard typical of Provence that plays a major role in the protection of the regional ecosystem.

As the sun sets behind the restanques ( a sort of dry stone breakwalls)  you might be lucky enough to see one of them. The tarente, mimetically hiding among the stones, knows she brings good luck to this exceptional land. Invisible during the day, she absorbs the sunlight heat. At night, this hunteress relentlessly hunts down the pests that might otherwine impair the quality of wines. The men of Moulin de La Roque -proud of their technical skills and expertise that have been handed down and improved from generation to generation- perfectly know they owe the tarente a great debt of gratitude. They also know that exceptional things are synonymous with rarety and a hint of magic.

Le moulin de la Roque

Notre histoire

Cep Moulin de la Roque

1950

Création du Moulin de La Roque. Située à la Cadière d’Azur dans un ancien moulin à blé, la cave est destinée à l’élevage des vins de Bandol des caves de Saint Cyr, Sanary/mer et La Cadière .

1964

Grâce à la volonté de ses vignerons et à de nombreux investissements, le Moulin de La Roque vinifie désormais ses vins.

2006

Les Maîtres Vignerons du Beausset rejoignent le Moulin de La Roque.

2007

Cap sur le développement durable .Cette dynamique vise à intégrer le développement durable à l’ensemble de ses activités et relations avec ses partenaires (clients, fournisseurs, employés et collectivités locales).

2012

Construction d’une cave semi-enterrée bâtie selon des normes éco-environnementales sur un site exceptionnel au pied du village du Castellet. Ce site intègre au coeur du vignoble un chai alliant tradition et progrès technique, avec un lieu d’accueil pour le public et une salle de dégustation.

2015

Ouverture d’une nouvelle boutique au Beausset, sur le site de l’ancienne coopérative.

Les terroirs

Une géographie mouvementée

Le terroir de Bandol, tourné vers la mer Méditerranée et encerclé de collines et montagnes constitue un véritable amphithéâtre naturel. Le vignoble du Moulin de La Roque riche de ses 1500 parcelles pour une surface globale de 305 ha est réparti sur les 8 communes de l’appellation (Bandol, La Cadière d’Azur, Le Castellet, Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer, Le Beausset, Evenos, Ollioules et Sanary-sur-Mer). C’est cette diversité qui constitue l’une de ses richesses.

Un microclimat idéal

Le terroir de Bandol bénéficie d’un microclimat propice à la maturation optimale de son cépage principal, le Mourvèdre. L’ensoleillement y est maximal, avec plus de 3000 heures de soleil par an. Le climat méditerranéen, caractérisé par des hivers plutôt humides et doux avec des précipitations plutôt rares mais intenses et des étés chauds et arides, est ici tempéré par l’influence maritime alors que les reliefs environnants protègent les vignobles des incursions du mistral venant du nord.

Vignes et bord de mer

Une mosaïque de terroirs

Afin de développer une plus grande expression de ses Bandol, le Moulin de La Roque a collaboré depuis 1997 avec l’INAO, la Chambre d’Agriculture et l’ICV dans le but d’identifier des entités géologiquement et pédologiquement homogènes permettant des vinifications séparées du cépage Mourvèdre. 5 terroirs réagissant différemment en fonction des millésimes ont été distingués. C’est de l’assemblage et de la complémentarité des vins issus de ces terroirs que naît la meilleure expression de ses Bandol.

Des hommes et des femmes

Des vestiges attestent que, depuis le VIe siècle avant notre ère, des hommes façonnaient de leurs mains les paysages de Bandol en implantant des vignobles étagés en restanques (terrasses). Des murets, édifiés en pierres sèches, permettent de retenir la terre et l’eau indispensables à la vigne sur ces coteaux peu fertiles.

C’est dans les années 1930, et ce grâce à la volonté de quelques vignerons de s’engager dans la voie de la qualité, que le Bandol va obtenir ses lettres de noblesse. Suite à un grand travail de sélection variétale, des études de terroirs, l’alliance des pratiques ancestrales aux techniques modernes, les vignerons de Bandol vont enfin récolter le fruit de leurs efforts.

Le décret fondateur de l’appellation Bandol verra le jour en 1941, et fera partie des premières AOC reconnues par l’Institut National des Appellations d’Origine.

Les quelques 198 vignerons du Moulin de La Roque, convaincus que la qualité est le maître mot de leur réussite, continuent aujourd’hui d’entretenir ce patrimoine.
Un travail acharné et une volonté constante d’amélioration sont chaque jour récompensés par la satisfaction et la fidélité de leurs clients.

Hommes et femmes

Les cépages

Nos vins rouges et rosés sont issus d’assemblage de cépages Mourvèdre, Grenache, Cinsault et Carignan.

Planté sur plus de 50% des parcelles du Moulin de la Roque, le Mourvèdre est le cépage caractéristique du Bandol. Ce cépage très exigeant s’harmonise à merveille avec le terroir bandolais. Il apporte à nos vins puissance et potentiel de garde, ainsi qu’une large palette aromatique : fruits noirs, épices, pruneau, réglisse, cuir, garrigue, sous-bois.

Le Grenache ne craint pas les climats arides et son port droit lui permet de résister au mistral. Il donne ses meilleurs résultats dans des parcelles de coteaux, même secs et caillouteux. Les vins issus de Grenache sont généreux et expriment des arômes de fruits rouges et exotiques, d’épices ainsi que des notes animales.

Vigne

Cépage d’origine provençale, le Cinsault est exigeant en chaleur et résiste très bien à la sécheresse. Bien maîtrisé, il confère à nos vins une grande élégance, du fruité et de la rondeur. Il permet de créer une harmonie entre la richesse en alcool du Grenache et le potentiel tannique du Mourvèdre.

Plantées sur les coteaux bandolais, les vieilles vignes de Carignan produisent des vins rouges colorés, charpentés et puissants qui, après assemblage avec les vins de Mourvèdre, ne demandent qu’à vieillir.

Nos vins blancs proviennent des cépages Clairette, cépage typiquement méridional, et Ugni-Blanc. Tandis que la Clairette apporte de la rondeur et une grande finesse d’arôme (fleurs blanches, miel, fruits à chair blanche ou exotiques), l’ugni-blanc confère à nos vins de la nervosité et de l’équilibre.

Vinification

Cuves

Le Moulin de La Roque bénéficie des savoir-faire et des matériels les plus récents tout en préservant les méthodes qui ont fait du Bandol le vin reconnu qu’il est aujourd’hui.

La vendange manuelle est totalement égrappée afin d’éviter aux moûts la dureté des tanins issus des rafles. En fonction des sélections réalisées au vignoble puis à la réception de la vendange, les raisins destinés aux vins blancs et rosés sont dirigés vers des pressoirs pneumatiques et le jus récolté est écoulé directement par gravité dans des cuves inox. La maîtrise des températures est un outil indispensable pour favoriser l’expression aromatique pendant la fermentation alcoolique. Le maintien des vins à température constante et une protection vis-à-vis de l’oxydation par inertage permettent ensuite de préserver toute la fraîcheur de nos vins rosés et blancs.

Les raisins destinés aux vins rouges sont vinifiés en cuves inox en fonction de leur terroir de provenance. Leur vinification séparée permet à notre Œnologue de disposer d’une large palette de produits qu’il pourra ensuite assembler en fonction des profils de cuvées souhaitées.

Une fois la fermentation alcoolique achevée, une cuvaison longue de 20 à 30 jours permettra au jeune vin de s’épanouir pleinement. Le Bandol rouge rejoindra ensuite des foudres de chêne pour un élevage de 18 à 24 mois sous bois afin d’améliorer ses qualités organoleptiques. En effet, c’est pendant cette période que les riches tanins du Mourvèdre vont s’assouplir pour gagner en finesse et en élégance.

Des partenariats avec l’ICV et le Centre du Rosé nous permettent chaque année d’expérimenter les technologies les plus récentes : macération pelliculaire à froid, élevage en barrique sur lies fines, cycles de pressurage respectant l’intégrité de la vendange.

Savoir faire et qualité

Grâce à une volonté constante d’améliorer la qualité de ses vins, le Moulin de la Roque a obtenu en 2004 la certification ISO 9001 et NFV01-007 en 2010 et s’est engagé dans une démarche de Développement Durable depuis 2007. Ainsi, chaque année, le Moulin de La Roque doit être capable de démontrer son aptitude à fournir régulièrement un produit conforme aux exigences de ses clients, aux exigences réglementaires et accroître la satisfaction de ses clients.

La démarche HACCP, mise en œuvre depuis 1997, garantit la traçabilité de ses produits et la sécurité alimentaire du consommateur.
Les vignerons exécutent dans leurs parcelles les tâches manuelles et mécaniques au rythme des saisons, en les justifiant toujours par des observations : fertilisation adaptée à la vigueur des vignes, taille courte et rigoureuse, entretien mécanique du sol, ébourgeonnage et épamprage manuels, maîtrise des rendements par des vendanges en vert si nécessaire, protection phytosanitaire raisonnée en fonction de la météorologie, et de contrôles et comptages dans les parcelles.

Geste dans les vignes

Ce sont les contrôles de maturité réalisés sur les parcelles qui permettent d’attribuer à chacune une date optimale de vendange en fonction du cépage, du terroir et de la cuvée de destination. L’organisation des vendanges selon un calendrier nominatif à la parcelle permet de faciliter la gestion de nos différentes cuvées et sélections terroir.

La vendange est 100% manuelle. Chaque apport de vendange réceptionné est scrupuleusement contrôlé (maturité, état sanitaire) afin de tirer la quintessence de chaque millésime.

Notre emblème

Tarente

L’emblème de notre identité visuelle est la tarente, animal typique de la Provence qui a une grande importance dans l’équilibre de l’écosystème régional.

Le soleil se couche sur les restanques … on a peut-être une chance de l’apercevoir. La tarente, pierre parmi les pierres, sait qu’elle porte chance à cette terre d’exception. Le jour, invisible, elle capte les rayons de soleil. La nuit, chasseresse, elle traque les insectes qui pourraient nuire à la qualité du vin. Les hommes du Moulin de la Roque, s’ils sont fiers de gestes affinés génération après génération, savent bien ce qu’ils lui doivent, car l’exception naît de la rareté, et d’un soupçon de magie.